SDLC and Introduction to Software Testing

Software Testing is important as it uncovers a defect before it is delivered to the customer ensuring the quality of software. So that the defects or bugs can be identified in the early stages of development; as later the stage in which bug is identified, more is the cost to rectify it.

What are Errors ,Bugs and Defect? - A mistake in coding is called Error, error found by tester is called Defect, defect accepted by development team then it is called Bug.

Positive Testing And Negative testing  -Positive Testing means testing the application or system by giving valid data. 
Negative Testing means testing the application or system by giving invalid data. In this testing tester always check for only invalid set of values.

Software Development life cycle (SDLC):

1. Planning
2. Requirement analysis
3. Design
4. Coding
5. Testing 
6. Release and maintenance 


Stage 1: Planning and requirement analysis

Requirement Analysis is the most important and necessary stage in SDLC. Planning for the quality assurance requirements and identifications of the risks associated with the projects is also done at this stage.
Business analyst and Project organizer set up a meeting with the client to gather all the data like what the customer wants to build, who will be the end user, what is the objective of the product. Before creating a product, a core understanding or knowledge of the product is very necessary.

Stage 2: Defining Requirements
Once the requirement analysis is done, the next stage is to certainly represent and document the software requirements and get them accepted from the project stakeholders. This is accomplished through "SRS"- Software Requirement Specification document which contains all the product requirements to be constructed and developed during the project life cycle.

Stage 3: Designing the Software
The next phase is about to bring down all the knowledge of requirements, analysis, and design of the software project. This phase is the product of the last two, like inputs from the customer and requirement gathering.

Stage 4: Developing the project
In this phase of SDLC, the actual development begins, and the programming is built. The implementation of design begins concerning writing code. Developers have to follow the coding guidelines described by their management and programming tools like compilers, interpreters, debuggers, etc. are used to develop and implement the code.

Stage 5: Testing
After the code is generated, it is tested against the requirements to make sure that the products are solving the needs addressed and gathered during the requirements stage. During this stage, unit testing, integration testing, system testing, acceptance testing are done.

Stage 6: Deployment and Maintenance
Once the software is certified, and no bugs or errors are stated, then it is deployed.Once when the client starts using the developed systems, then the real issues come up and requirements to be solved from time to time.This procedure where the care is taken for the developed product is known as maintenance.

No comments:

Post a Comment