Defect/Bug Life Cycle

Defect Life Cycle:
  • Defect life cycle, also known as Bug Life cycle is the journey of a defect cycle, which a defect goes through during its lifetime.
  • It varies from organization to organization and also from project to project as it is governed by the software testing process and also depends upon the tools used.
  • Defect Life Cycle is a cyclic process, which describes how a defect or bug passes through different stages from the identification stage to the Fixing stage. it begins when a tester finds or logs a bug and it ends when the bug is fixed.
  • If Developer reject a defect understand the reason why defect is rejected , if developer is correct we can close the defect or else we can discuss it with test lead or project lead and than reopen the defect.

Some of the familiar values used for defects, during their life cycle are :
  • New : New defect is reported.
  • Open : The developer is currently working on the defect.
  • Fixed : The code changes are completed and the defect is resolved .
  • Deferred : Developers will fixed the defect later.
  • Duplicate : The defect is same like one of the previous defect. When previous is fixed it also fixed.
  • Retest : the tester starts the task of retesting the defect to verify if the defect is fixed or not.
  • Rejected : Developers did not accept the defect .
  • Close : After re test if defect is working correctly .
  • Reopen : After re test if defect is still exist then we reopen the defect.
  • Not a Bug : If the defect does not have an impact on the functionality of the application, then the status of the defect gets changed to “Not a Bug”.
  • There are others of course, and some groups might use combinations of these values (such as Closed-Fixed, Closed-WontFix, etc.).

No comments:

Post a Comment